Musical Genius

Everybody has their own taste in music and their favorites could remain forever, or change every day. While I’m packing up for school, I made a playlists of my favorites of the moment or of all-time so I could have a pick-me-up if I got stressed or sad about leaving. Hence the title, music really is genius at changing any mood. Enjoy!*

  •  The Cave by Mumford and Sons I love M&S and the regular version of this song, but the live version from Shepherd’s Bush Empire is one hundred times better. To hear how many people were singing with them and clapping really makes this one of the best versions I’ve heard.
  • Hollywood by RAC ft. Penguin Prison The beat of this song is really what gets me. It’s so fun and retro that it’s almost impossible not to sing along with this one.
  • Welcome Home by Radical Face This song is really different and a little less upbeat, but the climactic energy and the build up in each verse is unmatched. I would recommend this for sure.
  • Better Than Love by Griffin House This is hands down one of the most precious songs I’ve heard in a long time.  It’s a pretty sappy love song, but you can’t help but to smile when you listen to it.
  • Bad (Remix) by Wale ft. Rihanna Yeah, I know, super sexual song, but it is just so good. You can’t not listen to this song. Wale is an amazing rapper and to add someone like Rihanna into a song like this is musical perfection.
  • Boy With a Coin by Iron and Wine I’m not sure what it is about this song, but the Indie vibe from it and their voices together make it one of my favorites at the moment. I wouldn’t say it’s a dancing song by any means, but definitely one to listen to.
  • Stubborn Love by The Lumineers This is one of my all-time favorite songs. It will probably never get old to me and the lyrics are amazingly strung together. This is one I will never get sick of.
  • Go Your Own Way by Lissie This song is in the trailer of Safe Haven and that’s where I first fell in love with it. The passion in the music is amazing and her voice is the perfect rendition of this Fleetwood Mac 1977 single.
  • Aw Naw by Chris Young I haven’t decided if this is just one of my “favorites for now” or not, but every time it comes on, I can’t stop singing. It has such a fun, country feel and I think we’ve all been in the position of “I should leave the bar, but maybe after this drink” so it’s totally relatable.
  • Wake Me Up by Avicii I think every single person has fallen in love with this song. It’s such a cool mix of the guitar and house music and I love the free-spirit nature of the lyrics. Avicii never really fails for feel good music. Shoutout to my Arizona Phi’s during 2011 serenade.
  • Whatever She’s Got by David Nail The day someone sings this song to me, I swear, is the day I accept a marriage proposal. He absolutely adores the girl in these lyrics even though she isn’t perfect and it’s how every girl would love to feel, so why not pretend it’s about you?
  • Dayum, Baby by Florida-Georgia Line Everyone knows my Florida-Georgia line obsession, so it was hard to pick just one song, but this is ususally my go-to. It’s sexy and fun and BK and Ty really know how to get to a girl’s attention with this one.
  • Kiss Me Slowly by Parachute This song will always hold a spot in my heart because it reminds me of the most perfect time in my life. I love the lyrics and how they apply to that time for me, but even if you’re just listening for the first time, its such a feel-good love song.
  • Kick It In The Sticks by Brantley Gilbert Probably one of the most bad-ass country songs that I know. It really makes you want to go to some small town, back road town in the south and party all night.
  • Into The Night by Santana Love. Love. Love. I heard this song years ago and haven’t been able to get over it. Santana is a musical genius and adding Chad Kroeger’s raspy voice into this makes you want to push repeat and dance until you can’t stand up anymore.
  • Age of Worry by John Mayer John Mayer is always perfect, but this song is really cool. It really makes you embrace the moment you’re in and the times in your life and stay young and wild as long as possible.
  • Radio Nowhere by Bruce Springsteen Oldie, but such a goodie. I love Bruce and this is definitely my favorite song by him. I first heard it driving down the coast of California with an old friend of mine, so it brings me back to him and that day every single time I hear it.
  • Hell on the Heart by Eric Church Eric Church is definitely my favorite country singer, but this song is probably true about every girl. His lyrics and his voice are a perfect combination in this song.
  • Dangerous Connection by OAR OAR is a huge Chicago favorite, but I chose the Live at Red Rocks version of this one. If you know OAR, you know that this is probably their best venue so naturally the version is great. Their lyrics are so original and the addition of Jerry on the sax and Marc’s voice are awesome.
  • Stable Song by Gregory Alan Isakov Another relaxing song and a little on the long side, but I love it! I hadn’t heard of him before this song and as soon as I heard it, I was searching every song he had. It’s definitely one worth hearing!
  • All I Have by Mat Kearney Last, but not least. I love Mat Kearney. His voice is so beautiful and his songs are totally applicable. You can feel the passion in this song and almost see the pictures happening and still want to sing along with every word.

Al

*I do not own the rights to any of these videos. They were only posted to help my readers hear the songs.

Leave a Reply

