Great Minds Discuss Ideas, Small Minds Discuss People.

I think I realized something this weekend and I feel like it’s important enough to talk about here.

People are ALWAYS going to talk. They’re going to say hurtful, rude things just to make themselves feel better about their lives, when in reality, if they’re having to talk about you in the first place, clearly their lives are so miserable that they have nothing better to do. The thing I realized, and I’ve actually been able to fully embrace, is that no matter what they say, as long as you believe in yourself,  you’re better than them. You’re already ten steps ahead.

There’s a saying that goes, “Pay no mind to those who talk behind your back, it simply means you are two steps ahead.” How. True. If someone has to talk about you and the things you do and even judge you based on them, you’re obviously doing something right. If you were just a boring person, they’d have nothing to talk about at all.

The thing I want to always remind myself in times like this is that there are no way for me to stop people from talking. I can’t control what people say or do. Butcan control how I react towards these people or how I let their words affect me. I have really always been a wall…I never let the negative things people say get to me that much, if at all. But, I’m a human. So of course, sometimes it’ll get to me. Just remembering the fact that they’re talking about me for a reason alone makes me feel much better.

I have always talked up my “support system,” but times like this make me realize how great they really, truly are. My family, kerm, my roommates and my friends at school are purely God sent. People talking about you don’t know what you’re going through in your life, they probably don’t even care and spew hateful words. But the people in your corner are there to back you up, no matter what. They know what is really going on and they know the real you. Keep these people forever and cherish them for the amazing beings that they are.

At the end of the day, you begin to feel bad for these people. They have nothing else to do except talk about you and look deeper into your life to find things to use against you. Pray for these people. Pray that they find happiness in their life and in their soul that they are seeking by attempting, and failing, to bring yours down. Keep your head up and pay no mind to those who abuse the privilege to be a part of your extraordinary story.

20131117-222030.jpg

Al

Leave a Reply

