“When I grew up she showed me how to go downtown…”

It has been exactly one week on my own in Chicago…
and I am not planning on coming off Cloud Nine any time soon.

8414668723_b88e4f9e79_b

I honestly surprised myself with how quickly I adjusted. The move itself could not have gone any smoother and while, me being me, there were a few anxiety filled moments of clothes all over the closet floor or the shower curtain not fitting exactly right, but anyway, I made it and I’m here. And I’m happy.

Every Wednesday, somewhere around 9:00pm, if I look directly out my bedroom window and just to the right of the clock on the Wrigley Building, I can see the entire Navy Pier fireworks show. As a little girl, I have extremely vivid memories of watching that same show and simply falling in love with Chicago. When I chose my building I had no idea I would be able to see the fireworks, but for me, it is so incredibly symbolic to have that view.

As I grew up, I came to the city almost every weekend over the summer and every year on my birthday. I would stare at the brownstones, the two flats and the towering apartment buildings and dream of the day I would be able to live in the city…in my city. That day came for me on July 21, 2015.

I had done the all too familiar drive eastbound down I-90 more times than I could count, but that morning was different. The butterflies were different. The air was different. The skyline was different. It was my home now and I was infused with a sense of pride that is unparalleled.

3c331715393bf42541f850d6fd7ca2a7

The one “downer” I will say is the struggle of leaving my childhood home behind. Where most people move out and go back to visit every now and then, I do not have that luxury. The week that I moved out, my home went on the market and that broke my heart. I will forever cherish the memories, happy and sad, made in that house. The way I see it, it is just a closed chapter. This is all a part of the new life we are all starting and it’s part of the story.

When I wake up in the morning and I look around me, the Trump Tower, the Wrigley Building, the Tribune Building, the Sears Tower (do not “Willis Tower” me.), Lake Michigan, I realize how many people have been here before me and will be here after me. I am a part of this city’s history, its present and its future. My actions today will be part of Chicago forever. Chills.

Screen Shot 2015-07-29 at 11.04.11 PM

I’m sure I’ll be blogging plenty more of my adventures in Chicago. The people I meet, the things I do, the places I go…they will all be a page in my book. This is only week one. I am ecstatic of what’s to come and to share it with the people I love. Speaking of, special shoutout to my parents, my family and my friends for the outpouring of love, support, messages, phone calls and visits. You’ve made these days unforgettable and truly make me look forward to every one from here on out. I love you all!

Al

3 Replies to ““When I grew up she showed me how to go downtown…””

  1. Beautifully written! I am so excited to watch this chapter of your life unfold Ally! Every day is a new adventure, make the most of it angelface!!! Love u with all my ♡ AP

Leave a Reply

